Southwest Florida CouncilAbout UsMission, Facts & Figures

Southwest Florida Council

The Southwest Florida Council was chartered in July 1929.  The Southwest Florida Council is a geographic area divided into four districts that include Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Hendry, Lee, Manatee, Sarasota Counties. The Council has an executive board of volunteers and a staff of professionals.

The Council accomplishes its mission by making its program available to chartered organizations; existing organizations that have compatible goals. These groups include religious, educational, civic fraternal, business, labor, and governmental bodies.  The Council supports chartered organizations by providing materials and certain facilities, such as camps. The Chartered Organizations organize the packs and troops. 

There are approximately 253 councils in the Boy Scouts of America. 


Council Area Map


The mission of the Boy Scouts of America, Southwest Florida Council is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.


The Southwest Florida Council will provide a program that is fun for all eligible youth in our Council; and through the values of the Scout Oath and Law develops them into the future leaders of our communities. “Scouting is the best investment our community can make.”

Proud Supporters of Scouting

1801 Boy Scout Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33907
239.936.8072 Fax 239.936.7864

Copyright 2009 - 2019 Southwest Florida Council , Boy Scouts of America. All rights reserved.

Proud Partners of Learning for Life and Scouting